Yarn Reveiw – Patons : Fairytale Colour 4 Me DK

Patons Fairytale Colour 4 Me DK
Patons Fairytale Colour 4 Me DK

This yarn is a delicious 100% wool. It is considered a baby yarn as it is very soft with only a touch of that tell-tell wool texture giving away its fibre content. It comes in balls of 50g each with approximately 90m and the tension comes out as 22 stitches and 30 rows on 4mm needles. It is machine washable at 30 degrees but the ball band recommends a minimum machine action so you may still prefer hand wash instead to preserve your items.

I have chosen a cool turquoise blue to work up a bed jacket ready for this coming winter. However, I first tried out the yarn with crochet and I will definitely be getting many, many more balls of Patons Fairytale to make myself a shawl too.

Sample crochet - The beginings of a granny square
Sample crochet – The beginnings of a granny square

The reason this yarn is so wonderful for crochet has a lot to do with it being 100% wool, of course. It is firm and squidgy making it just a joy to work with while producing quite a dense but light fabric. I like that it is smoothly spun so it glides over the hook easily and is quick to work up. However, the spin is also quite loose so be careful as the crochet motion untwists the ply just slightly.

With knitting it has the same ease of use, smoothly running off the needles and with great stitch definition. I’ve just started my bed jacket which is a vintage 1950’s pattern and so it took a little working out to get the tension correct. I have swapped out the recommended 4mm needles for 3.75mm but it is a very versatile DK yarn that would work well for a myriad of patterns.

Starting off my bed jacket - Knitting sample
Starting off my bed jacket – Knitting sample

I highly recommend this yarn and love the colour I’m working with – it’s very crisp! I think that as a 100% wool yarn it has a wonderful softness and a firmness which you just can’t get from other fibres. I think that Patons have created a lovely staple that can be used for all projects and all techniques.

Have you used Patons Fairytale before? What did you make with it?

All the best,

Katie

Leave a comment