Tatted owl with pattern

A little something for the weekend. I’m very new to tatting but I love it already and I wanted to try out a design of my own. My little owl design has gone through some very strange looking stages, most of which were just knots but after drawing some design ideas and playing about with some thread the last few days I’ve come up with this. I wanted to share the pattern with everyone so you can make him too if you’d like.

Tatted Owl Design.
Tatted Owl Design.

His little feet overlap which I quite like but you can increase the number of double stitches in the chain between his feet if you want them to sit separately. I hope the pattern I’ve drawn up is ok, I’ve just used a simple drawing program so it’s nothing special. A written pattern is below so I hope it makes sense all together.

Pattern Diagram.
Pattern Diagram.

Symbols:
R: Join these to make a ring
C: These stitches make a chain
3: The number of double stitches
P: Create a picot here
JP: Join to existing picot (see the diagram)

Starting with the right eye.
R – 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3
C – 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3
Left eye and ear.
R – 3 P 3 JP 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3Ā P 3
C – 5
R – 3 P 1 P 1 P 3
C – 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3
R – 3 JP 3
Left side and foot.
C – 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3
R – 4 P 4
R – 6 P 6
R – 4 P 4
C – 6 (OR MORE DEPENDING ON IF YOU WANT HIS FEET SEPARATE)
Right foot and side.
R – 4 P 4
R – 6 P 6
R – 4 P 4
C – 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3
R – 3 JP 3
Right ear.
C – 3 P 3 P 3 P 3 P 3
R – 3 P 1 P 1 P 3
C – 5
Join to the top of right eye.

Comments are very welcome, I always like to read them and feedback would be fantastic.

If you would like to then please send me any pictures of your little owl I would love to see how they look. I’ll collect them together and add them in to the bottom of this post. If you want, send me your blog address and I’ll put a link next to your owl.

Happy Saturday!

9 thoughts on “Tatted owl with pattern

    1. You’re welcome! That sounds really cute, I love the idea of putting a bead in. If you have a picture I’d love to see. I find it really interesting how they all come out differently and have their own quirk.

    1. Hi Cheryl, thank you for this. You are absolutely right and I have corrected the post to reflect this. Much appreciated! šŸ™‚

  1. Very cute. I’ll try this tonight, but I’m so very new at this that it will probably be a mess šŸ™‚ Thanks for the pattern. This will be my first attempt at following a pattern!

Leave a Reply

